FD Chapter 5: I was only asked various things by Kuro but…

Translator: InnerReality
Editor: sora


Let me remember about demi-humans again.

Although they have similar anatomy as that of humans, a part of their body is taken from a different creature. It is obvious that they even receive some abilities from that creature. In rare cases, there exist demi-humans who transform from human to the corresponding creature.

And why am I thinking about demi-humans early in the morning? Let me tell you.

Just as I woke up, I expected to see a bear cub that slept with me last night on the bed. Instead, I saw a girl sleeping on the same spot.

Clarke was emotionally attached to me since I was the one who fed her when I first met her. Somehow she ended up being those rare types of demi-humans.

Noticing that I woke up, Clarke immediately sat up.

“Ahh~ Master, good morning, kuma”, she said while smiling. (T/N: Although, I have translated ご主人様 – goshujin-sama as Master, the meaning is more intimate, as if a wife calling her husband. Also, kuma means bear and like Oonya, this bear cub ends her sentences with kuma)

The blanket slipped off from Clarke’s body and as expected, her bare skin was visible in full light. She looked pitiable so I began searching for something to wear when Oonya came and,

“Young master! Today’s weather is great so let me dry that futon under the sun, nya…. nya?”

As soon as she knocked on the door and rushed inside she was stunned upon looking at the bed.

“Kuma?”

At the same time, Clarke also stiffened up while looking at Oonya.

“… Yo… Young master?… whose… child is this, nya?”

Somehow she cackled loudly over the incident. Ohh, calm down now!

During breakfast, I once again introduced Clarke to everyone. 

“Everyone, please take care of me, kuma~”, stuffing her mouth with potato salad she cheerfully replied. Everyone started to get back to normal from this situation, but 

“….. from now on, sleeping with Saphate is prohibited, my dear.”

“Kumaaa!?”

Clarke shouted upon hearing Eldena’s words.

According to Clarke,

“I was chased by scary people, kuma~”

“With much difficulty, I managed to run away, kuma~ “I could escape thanks to my bear form but I became hungry, kuma~

“I reached the field~”

“….. Oonya….. very scary….”

“Clarke, did you say anything, nya?”

“Nothing, kuma!”

 “Aren’t they like those who indulge in slave-hunting or robbery?” I thought. Clarke is still Young but she had to encounter such unfortunate incidents….

Although Clarke behaves in a childish manner seeing her playing energetically fills me with delight. Whenever I was teaching Yome, she barged in without any restraint and shouted playfully, “Master! Let’s play, kuma!!” and every time Oonya used to come and drag her away.

As it was hard to play with Aura because of her injuries, Eira became her only playing partner. However, the things that Clarke, her partner, do have become difficult to handle for this dragonewt. Having said that, Eira is still a child and unexpectedly both girls are of similar age. Hence both were glad to play with each other and they played until they were completely exhausted.

Although she looked graceful when playing with Eira, The amount of food she ate was staggeringly high. With that, it was as if Eldena, Oonya, Yome, and I were eating quickly…. I wonder where does all that food goes in her tiny body…

Anyway, it looks like our plan to expand the farm is also progressing at a rapid pace.

“….. Can I say something?… Looks like, as we proceed further, more and more problems will arise”, Eldena sighed as we checked the food stock. 

“Since we started living together, we have to do our best to support ourselves.”

“…We, you say?”

“Yeah, we.”

For some reason, she hung her head down, while her skin flushed red. Did I say anything strange?

The next day, after a long time, Kuro the ogre came to our place with his party. “Ohh, now you have brought home a bear kid and an owl girl as well?”, saying that, he laughed as usual. His laughter always brings the spirits up.

This time, Kuro brought me a small request. As per the details, there has been an epidemic in a towel remote down towards the east and he was asked to deliver the medicines and hence dropped by with a request to prepare them. When I checked the list of medicines that Kuro had requested, I thought they could be prepared with the equipment in-house and hence I accepted his request. But the Quantity required is fairly large so it would take at least a few days to complete preparing them. Meanwhile, Kuro’s goblin assistants offered to help with farm expansions. 

Regarding the various saplings and seeds that I brought from the village at the foot of Gorn mountains, I learned a lot of things. Kuro helped me with growing the plants that grow in a short time, and explained how long it takes to grow other plants in detail. Since he visits various towns and villages for trade, the amount of knowledge that he gathered was worth appreciating and this made me very excited about next time. Within four days I completed preparing the medicines that Kuro requested me. Although technically, both Eldena and I made them, Yome also helped us with what she studied. “Sorry for the deferred payment. Once I finish delivering, I’ll bring you back the money. Also, look forward to the souvenir from me!” Saying that Kuro immediately departed. Although he said that, he still left us lots of vegetables and sundries and I feel a bit guilty about that.

 After that, within a few days, a month had passed and we left for the village at the foot of the gone mountains with medical supplies.

This time, I am accompanied by Yome and Aura. Eldena and Oonya pestered me until the end to let them accompany me and hence we ended up drawing lots. The result was that both of them ended up staying at home.

This time I also brought some construction material with me. Like last time, we found this tree with a large trunk and we stopped for the night but we used the construction materials to build a small tree house on top of the tree. The materials are only in sufficient quantity to build a small shelter to protect us from the rain. But if we progress slowly, we would be able to build a cozy treehouse to rest in the middle of traveling to that village. The next day, we left the treehouse early in the morning and reached the village before noon. By foot, we headed to the Village Association office and as promised we delivered the medical supplies. We received the payment and thanks to this now we have a reliable source of income. 

As I talked with the ant-woman Areya the conversation led to the Green Convent, the remote town south of this place. For some reason, a new disease had been spreading in that place and it had become a major headache.

Looking at the state of affairs it seems like it’s the same disease that has been spreading in the town towards the east that Kuro had gone to.

This disease cannot be cured by healing magic. Unless one does not consume a potion mixture with a certain potency, it does not work. Almost all of the physicians in the green convent are magical healers so no one is capable of preparing medicines to control the disease. As for normal medicine, unlike a magician who is skilled in healing magic, anyone can prepare. However for it to reach a certain potency, only a person who has a specialization in medicine would be able to do that. At Green Convent, there are Eldena’s relatives and I want to somehow go there but as of now, I am prohibited by my ex-father Lord.

Two days later, I returned to my home and informed everyone of this matter. As expected, Eldena reacted, “…. But the way that my family treated you is…” (T/N: To clear the confusion, the guards at the entrance of Green Convent treated them poorly even though Eldena used her authority as the daughter of the elves who serve the feudal lord there. It’s as if her parents were also partly responsible.)

Although she said that, her face is depicting her mixed feelings. It must be her concern for her parents. For now, even if I bring the medicines to the guards at the entrance, I am clueless about entering and leaving that place. But Oonya rejected my plan saying that there must be spies from the Royal Capital looking out for you.

After thinking in all ways I came up with a small plan and started executing it.

First is the preparation of medicines. Since I know the potency of those medicines, this time, I could prepare within two days. Next is reaching Green Convent on a wagon. To avoid being noticed by travelers or guards, we’ve used the mountain route but we traveled without any hassle, thanks to Eldena who was aware of the route as a native of this place.

Waiting for it to darken, I secretly approached one of the Green Convent gates with Clarke.

 Of course, the concealment magic was used to erase our presence.

 Clarke is quite powerful in the form of a bear, so she was asked to carry a wooden box containing the medicine in that form.

 For Clarke, it seemed to be part of the play, and she happily followed me.

 Anyway, I succeeded in leaving the wooden box containing the medicine in front of the gate.

 “… If you put in a letter, your evaluation would go up …”

 Eldena seemed a little dissatisfied,

 For me, I wasn’t interested in that because I thought it would be okay if the people in the city were cured.

 “… Well, that’s the good thing about Saphate.”

 With that said, Eldena laughed.

 “Master ~ Was I also useful, kuma?”

 Clarke rushed in between me and Eldena and rubbed my face.

 Eldena, who was a little dissatisfied with the gesture at first, seemed to have no choice but to laugh in the end.

 Although I was wondering what happened to the remote city in the east where Kuro went and the Green Convent in the south, there is currently no way to confirm it, hence I can only hope that it was effective. 

4 thoughts on “FD Chapter 5: I was only asked various things by Kuro but…

  1. I just discovered this series through its manga adaptation. This looks very interesting and detailed, I saw the raws on this website and read a lot of chapters using machine translation.

    https://novelup.plus/story/521695652

    I didn’t know you had picked this up. Please continue this.

    Like

    1. Yeah sure. Actually things got busy since last year and it was overwhelming. Only now, I got some rest. Will continue this.

      Like

Leave a comment